The FrogPad

A forum to get help or talk about Roastmaster…or anything else coffee.

ThermaQ probe for popcorn maker?  (Read 4941 times)

dmanning123

• (2 Posts)
    • View Profile
I'm a newbie, here, so looking to get started in the best direction.  I'd like to attach a temperature probe to a West Bend Krazy II Popcorn Maker.  I use Thermapens for cooking so I'm already a fan.  I plan on grabbing the ThermaQBlue but am curious what is the best probe to use in the popcorn maker?  Anyone attach one?  (I've read the article on SweetMarie's, but am curious which ThermaQ probe works best)

Once I figure this all out on the popcorn maker, I will upgrade to something higher end, but want to make sure this is a hobby I get hooked first.

Thanks!

Dave

Danny Hall

• (383 Posts)
    • View Profile
    • Rainfrog
Hi Dave...welcome!

The only popcorn maker I've ever roasted on is a Whirley Pop, back in the day, so I can't speak from experience. But, I equipped that with a probe, and the basics are the same, whether its a popcorn maker or a large shop roaster. You want to get the probe in the center of the bean mass as much as possible. For a fluid style of roasting (assuming you're using the air popper version) that's more of a judgment call, and you'll end up measuring air temps as well, but with proper placement it will allow you accomplish the same results - repeatability.

The ThermaQ Blue accepts ANY style of K type thermocouple, and thermocouples CAN be bent AS LONG as you bend on a radius, i.e. no sharp corners. Think "U" shaped, not "L" shaped. Also stay away from the tip (where the junction is) at least 1/2". That being said, I'd take some measurements of the machine...maybe use pipe cleaners if you plan on bending it to help you get it right, and choose an 1/8" K type probe that hits your measurement plus some to go through the casing. You can get a wide array of sizes on Amazon...ranging from an inch or two through longer lengths.

Good luck!!

Andy

• (26 Posts)