The FrogPad

A forum to get help or talk about Roastmaster…or anything else coffee.

Parts to get started?  (Read 11263 times)

cinderblock

• (19 Posts)
    • View Profile
I just tried to order the parts to get started, but it appears the 4 Port Temp Sensor indicated in the following link is no longer. Do you have any suggestions?

http://rainfroginc.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Data-Logging-Data-Sheet_Layout-1.pdf

So I'm planning on purchasing an iPad, 4 Port Temp Sensor, Acrylic Enclosure, and K Type Thermocouple. Is this all? As noted above, the 4 Port Temp Sensor is not available anymore... or at least the link is leading to an antiquated page.

PS: I'm a complete newb, and I'm not much of an engineer-minded person, so I apologize in advance if I'm asking terribly basic questions. Appreciate all the help I can get.

Danny Hall

• (383 Posts)
    • View Profile
    • Rainfrog
Hi

Phidgets have reworked their product categories - here's the 4 Port Temperature Sensor.

The parts you mentioned are correct. In addition to those, you'll still need a laptop for the network host, or purchase the Phidgets SBC3 to fulfill that role. Note that if you're only going to monitor 1 probe, you can opt for the cheaper 1 port temperature sensor. And it doesn't matter where you get the probe.

Despite the DIY nature of Phidgets, they really are awesome pieces of hardware. The wireless advantage Phidgets offers is tough to beat.

A couple of notes about upcoming releases of Roastmaster.

1. The next update will provide J-type thermocouple support, if you'd rather have a J-type thermocouple.